Skip to content
LITHOEN

Process facility

AMG Lithium hydroxide refinery, Bitterfeld-Wolfen

Also known as AMG Lithium Bitterfeld, Bitterfeld refinery, Module 1

A lithium hydroxide plant at Bitterfeld-Wolfen in Saxony-Anhalt, Germany, opened by AMG Critical Materials on 18 September 2024 and described by its operator as Europe's first lithium hydroxide refinery. Its operator's own technical presentation describes Module 1 as converting TECHNICAL-GRADE lithium hydroxide into BATTERY-GRADE lithium hydroxide — an upgrading step, not a spodumene converter. For the full year 2025 the operator states that the refinery has continued to ramp up its production, producing in-specification battery-grade lithium hydroxide, while customer qualification had reached only its first stage. Everything recorded about this installation is operator-reported. Lithoen holds no independent observation of it, no production volume, and no record of what was actually fed to it in any particular period.

Classification

facility role
REFINERY
country
Germany
status
OPERATING

How this record is known

11
Settled consensus
Cited as the accepted position of the discipline.

11 of 11 claims on this page cite at least one registered source. Counts describe how each statement is known, not how likely it is to be true.

What Lithoen records

Each claim states how it is known and cites its evidence.

EstablishedOutput: battery-grade lithium hydroxide, stated by the operator as in specification. Period: full year 2025, reported 25 February 2026. Qualification: first stage only — kilogram samples dispatched end of 2025. Tons anticipated H1 2026; full capacity expected H2 2026. Volume produced: NOT STATED. Independent verification: NONE held.

Reported for this deposit

For the full year 2025 the operator states that the refinery has continued to ramp up its production, producing in-specification battery-grade lithium hydroxide and progressing with customer qualification as planned. It states that kilogram samples were dispatched to European cathode-active-material manufacturers at the end of 2025, initiating THE FIRST STAGE of qualification, that shipment of tons is anticipated in the first half of 2026, and that full production capacity is expected in the second half of 2026. The installation is therefore producing and NOT qualified, and is producing and NOT at capacity, on the operator's own account. No tonnage is stated. Everything here is operator-reported; this corpus holds no independent observation and no third-party assay. The claim is scoped TIMELESS because it records what a document states at a date, which does not expire. It is NOT a claim about the installation's present condition: no source read here speaks for today, and the corpus asserts no current status.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedPeriod: second quarter 2026, reported 29 July 2026. Production: continuing ramp-up, stated in specification. Sales: significant, volume NOT STATED. Qualification: customer qualifications progressing; the operator describes the battery-grade lithium hydroxide sold at start-up as UNQUALIFIED. Full capacity expected in the second half of 2026.

Reported for this deposit

In its second-quarter 2026 results the operator states that the Bitterfeld refinery has continued to ramp up production, CONSISTENTLY PRODUCING IN SPECIFICATION BATTERY-GRADE LITHIUM HYDROXIDE AND PROGRESSING CUSTOMER QUALIFICATIONS AS PLANNED, and that BITTERFELD HAD SIGNIFICANT SALES OF LITHIUM HYDROXIDE IN THE SECOND QUARTER. Its own operational review refers to THE START UP OF THE BITTERFELD PLANT WHICH SOLD UNQUALIFIED BATTERY-GRADE LITHIUM HYDROXIDE. The operator therefore draws the distinction itself: producing in specification is not the same as being qualified, and the material sold in this period is described by the operator as unqualified. No tonnage is stated. Everything here is operator-reported and this corpus holds no independent observation and no third-party assay.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedPeriod: first quarter 2026, reported 6 May 2026. Production: continued ramp-up, stated in specification. Commercial production: NOT YET BEGUN, expected around mid-2026. Sales in the period: NONE reported. Volume: NOT STATED. Qualification: progressing, stage not stated. Related: engineering started on a 5,000-ton carbonate-to-hydroxide conversion plant at the same site.

Reported for this deposit

In its first-quarter 2026 results, released 6 May 2026, the operator states that the Bitterfeld refinery has continued to ramp up and is consistently producing in specification battery-grade lithium hydroxide, and that it expects to BEGIN COMMERCIAL PRODUCTION AROUND MID-YEAR and to gradually load the plant with qualified sales. No tonnage is given and no lithium hydroxide sales are reported for the quarter. This is the third dated period the corpus holds for this installation and it places commercial production in the future at the date of writing.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedFeed classes named as INTENDED: technical-grade lithium hydroxide or carbonate, including recycled lithium and material from partners (2023 strategy; 2025 funding release, future tense). Material actually fed in any period: NOT STATED in any of the five operator documents held. Input requirements, acceptance conditions, composition limits, particle-size metrics, moisture basis, exclusions: NONE STATED. Statement class: design or plan only. No class A observed use, no class B declared acceptance, no class C documented requirement.

Reported for this deposit

Across four operator documents spanning March 2023 to July 2026 — a capital-markets presentation, an opening release, a full-year results release and a quarterly results release, plus a ministry-funding release — AMG names the CLASSES of material it intends the Bitterfeld refinery to run on and never names a material actually fed to it. The 2023 presentation sets out a six-pillar sourcing strategy in technical-grade lithium salts. The December 2025 release states that AMG PLANS TO PROCESS BOTH TECHNICAL-GRADE LITHIUM SALTS AND RECYCLED LITHIUM AT THE REFINERY, in the future tense. The July 2026 quarterly release, reporting production and significant sales, does not mention feedstock at all. No document read states an input requirement, an acceptance condition, a composition limit, a particle-size metric, a moisture basis or an exclusion. The feed of every actual campaign at this installation is therefore UNKNOWN, and the reason is that no source consulted states one — not that the operator processes nothing. This claim records an ABSENCE established by reading, and it must not be read as a statement that the refinery would accept any particular material.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence 3 sources, multiple sources, independence unknown

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2023 Peer-reviewed; AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2025 Peer-reviewed; AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedRequirement set: NONE RECOVERED. Documents read: the operator's lithium hydroxide product page and the 2023 capital-markets presentation, in full. Numeric requirements found in either: zero. Designation used by the operator: Electric Vehicle grade / battery grade, unaccompanied by limits. Channels searched on 17 September 2026: web search for an AMG lithium hydroxide data sheet, and the operator's own product pages. Not recovered from those channels on that date.

Reported for this deposit

No specification for the battery-grade lithium hydroxide monohydrate of this refinery was recovered. The operator's own product page for lithium hydroxide carries no specification table and no numeric requirement of any kind, offering only the qualitative phrases «very low impurity levels» and «low MMIs», with no document number, revision or date. The 2023 capital-markets presentation on this refinery, read in full across 44 pages, prints no requirement either. The designation the operator uses — «Electric Vehicle grade», also written battery grade — is a phrase in company prose and not a designation any document read assigns with limits.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence 2 sources, multiple sources, independence unknown

Evidence: AMG Lithium GmbH 2026 Institutional reference; AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2023 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedInput class as described by the operator: technical-grade lithium salts — technical-grade LiOH or Li2CO3, including material from battery recycling and from partners. Spodumene concentrate reaches the unit only after conversion elsewhere under a tolling arrangement. Basis: a March 2023 sourcing strategy, i.e. a design statement. The feed of any actual campaign is UNKNOWN.

Reported for this deposit

The operator's own technical presentation describes Module 1 as converting technical-grade lithium hydroxide to battery-grade lithium hydroxide, and lists its feedstock as technical-grade lithium salts obtained by tolling spodumene concentrate elsewhere, by purchasing technical-grade lithium hydroxide or carbonate, from lithium-ion battery recycling, or from partners. SPODUMENE CONCENTRATE IS NOT A DIRECT INPUT TO THIS UNIT: the presentation routes it through a tolling converter first. This is a sourcing strategy dated March 2023 by its file metadata, so it describes intended supply and NOT what was fed in any later period. What was actually fed during the 2025 ramp-up is not published and is not claimed here. The claim is scoped TIMELESS because it records what a document states at a date, which does not expire. It is NOT a claim about the installation's present condition: no source read here speaks for today, and the corpus asserts no current status.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence 2 sources, multiple sources, independence unknown

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2023 Peer-reviewed; AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedFeed origin: UNKNOWN, and specifically UNREPORTED rather than unnamed. Planned origins as stated by the operator: Mibra mine, Brazil (spodumene), via tolling conversion in China until 2026, and purchases of technical-grade lithium salts from partners. Material reported as having arrived: NONE. Channel searched: web search, 17 September 2026. Not recovered from that channel on that date; this is not a statement that no such document exists.

Reported for this deposit

No document read reports material actually arriving at the Bitterfeld refinery from any named place. The operator's own value chain places Mibra spodumene, conversion in Brazil and tolling in China before the German refinery, and marks it a plan with start-up in 2026; a bounded search on 17 September 2026 for reports of feedstock arriving returned only restatements of that intention. Phase 48 established separately that across five operator documents spanning 2023 to 2026 the operator names the classes of material it intends to run on and never names a material actually fed.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2022 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedPlanned second line at the same site: a 5,000 t/y lithium carbonate to lithium hydroxide converter, designed for recycled lithium carbonate, output technical-grade hydroxide for the site's main upgrading facility. Status: engineering starting, as stated 25 February 2026. Not constructed, not commissioned, no output.

Reported for this deposit

The operator states that it is starting engineering on a 5,000-ton lithium carbonate to lithium hydroxide conversion plant at the same Bitterfeld site, designed to accept recycled lithium carbonate and convert it to technical-grade hydroxide for use in the site's main upgrading facility. The statement is future tense and describes engineering that is starting. NOTHING is established about construction, commissioning, or any output, and this planned line must never be read as part of the operating installation. Its one established consequence for the present is indirect: by naming the existing plant the site's MAIN UPGRADING FACILITY, the same release independently confirms in 2026 what the 2023 presentation described — that the operating unit upgrades technical-grade material. The claim is scoped TIMELESS because it records what a document states at a date, which does not expire. It is NOT a claim about the installation's present condition: no source read here speaks for today, and the corpus asserts no current status.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedIndependence: NONE ESTABLISHED. First-party documents held: five. Independent documents held: zero. Newswire copies encountered: republications of the operator's own text, which add distribution and not corroboration. Channel searched: web search, 17 September 2026. Not recovered from that channel on that date; this is not a statement that no independent document exists.

Reported for this deposit

Every document this corpus holds on production at the Bitterfeld refinery is the operator's own: four dated results or opening releases and a capital-markets presentation. A bounded search on 17 September 2026 for independent documentation returned only those releases and newswire republications of them, which are dependent republications and not corroboration. The operational record of this installation is therefore first-party throughout, and no independent party is recorded as having observed, measured or verified anything produced there.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2026 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedSite: Bitterfeld-Wolfen, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany. Operator as reported on 18 September 2024: AMG Critical Materials. Opening hosted 18 September 2024. Stated annual capacity of one module: 20,000 t/y. Modules planned for the site: five. No production volume is stated.

Reported for this deposit

A lithium hydroxide plant at Bitterfeld-Wolfen in Saxony-Anhalt, Germany, operated by AMG Critical Materials, whose opening the operator hosted on 18 September 2024 and which it describes as Europe's first lithium hydroxide refinery. The operator states that annual capacity of one module is 20,000 tons per year and that five modules are planned for the site. The 20,000 tons is a CAPACITY the operator states for one module; it is not a quantity produced, and this corpus holds no production figure for this installation. The claim is scoped TIMELESS because it records what a document states at a date, which does not expire. It is NOT a claim about the installation's present condition: no source read here speaks for today, and the corpus asserts no current status.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2024 Peer-reviewed

EstablishedLink type: SUPPLY_AGREEMENT. Origin: AMG Lithium plant, Bitterfeld-Wolfen, Germany — under construction at the date of the agreement. Destination: EcoPro BM cathode materials facility, Debrecen, Hungary — a NAMED facility. Material: battery-grade lithium hydroxide. Contracted quantity: minimum 5,000 tonnes per annum, plus an optional 5,000 t/y described in a later presentation. Delivered quantity: NONE REPORTED. Scheduled first delivery: late 2023 for qualification. Term: three years initially. Direction: Germany to Hungary. An agreement is not a shipment.

Reported for this deposit

On 6 September 2022 the operator announced a binding supply agreement with EcoPro for a minimum of 5,000 tonnes per annum of battery-grade lithium hydroxide over an initial three-year term, destined for EcoPro BM's cathode materials production facility in Debrecen, Hungary. The agreement named a delivery schedule — qualification quantities in late 2023, regular quantities in 2024 — and described the Bitterfeld plant that would supply them as still under construction. The release reports an undertaking and reports NO delivery. No document read since reports any quantity moving under it.

  • assertion basis: SOURCE_REPORTED

Evidence support: Supported by the cited evidence one source

Evidence: AMG Critical Materials N.V. 2022 Peer-reviewed

Record last updated 2026-09-11. Corrections follow the published corrections policy; superseded claims are retained, never silently edited.